Joseph Wilson Ridley

I have just added Joseph Wilson Ridley to the A-Z Roll of Honour. He enlisted as Private 22535 and rose to the rank of Acting Regimental Quartermaster Sergeant, surviving the war to return to his work as a warehouseman with the Co-operative Society in West Stanley, County Durham

One thought on “Joseph Wilson Ridley

  1. Hi Martin,
    Fantastic site. I write for The Northern Echo in Darlington and my readers have alerted me to Joseph’s story as told by Cheryl, which I guess inspired your post. One of them also noticed that the name on the Pozieres memorial upon which the camera lingered was that of your grandfather, Thomas Bashforth. I am doing a piece, borrowing I must admit from your website (which will be credited) in Saturday’s paper. I hope you don’t mind. I also have a picture of Thomas from our archive – it was used twice (Echo, 12 Nov 1915, and Northern Despatch, 4 May 1918), but I should imagine you already have that.
    All the best
    Chris

Leave a Reply

